top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Rosales

Lilly Pearl

Updated: Oct 19, 2018

Describe: Lily Pearl is a music photographer. Recently she toured with Neck Deep on their The Peace and the Panic Tour Part 2. She makes these sort of collages with her photographs that really grab my attention. At first when you look at them they look like someone just took a pictures of some pictures but then you realize that this was all digitally altered when you see that the background is also a photo.


Analyze: The way that Lilly collages those pictures together add a much more raw and in a way scrapbooky feeling. There’s more emotion in a way because of how I meantioned before that it has a screpbook feel. It’s almost like shes putting these memories together, kind of like when I can’t decide on pictures from the same shoot, just put them together. I can’t figure out if she does this digitally or if she plays around with the prints, I feel like that would tweak things a bit. The mening of her works is more of a holding on to memories kind of thing. She’s talked about before about how this tour meant a lot to her because it gave her the opportunity to go on tour for one of the first times and because she just had so much creative freedom. Usually when a music photographer is taken out they only have so much freedom but in her case she got to do so much more. this tiny tour collages were just meant to hold on to tiny moments on tour and closeups of what’s usually not seen.


Reflect: Since it’s time for my opinion I’m gonna do what I usually do which is repeat myself. To me these collages in specific just really feel like it’s to hold on, most of them are about tiny moments and if on stage is of more closeups and more kind of background shots than your usual light show pop punk show photo. There’s also all of her personal stuff, which I haven’t gotten very deep into. I do see that she posts a lot pf ~nice~ pictures of herself which surprises me because usually photographers don’t take the other side of the camera. It’s really interesting to see what she comes up with everyday because she’s really active on social media. I wish to keep following her and look more deep into her art.


Connect: I think we connect a lot in terms of music and composition stuff. Her collages are what I wish mine were and the same for her photos. What she makes is a bit of what I’d been striving to be but I’ve also realized a bit that it’s really for me. I wish I could follow her influence more with her collages and composition more. We connect with music because she’s one of those artists that I found through music. In a way it’s safe to say we have the same taste in music.

 






22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page