top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Rosales

Danielle Krysa

Updated: Sep 28, 2018


In Danielle's words (her Instagram bio) her goal is "telling new stories with old images... and a bunch of paint" and that's exactly what's up. Danielle loves Queen Elizabeth II and she loves using cut outs of her on her pieces. With cut outs they're usually black and white or a sepia color, but usually the color is washed out, so she compensates for the lack of color with the paint she uses. She usually uses bright and pastel paints. One of the shapes you'll see the most in her artwork are circles. Some of the colors you'll see the most in the paint she uses are soft blues & pinks and some gold thrown in there. She brings all her materials together in delicate and clean collages. Her main focus with cut outs are people or human shapes, there are some stray pants without a body and some bodies without heads.


I’m sticking to the thing that I came up with which is that her purpose is to make good looking art that people would want to hang up somewhere that’s also humorous at times. The soft pastels and bold but cute golds make it fit perfectly in a house with a light playful theme. It would not fit in my house since my house is nudes and dark reds but most people have normal and nice pastel themed houses. The pastels take away from the seriousness of the cut outs that she uses, it gives it a cute and playful feel. Like I’m going to mention later I’ve never seen her make a post about meaning and maybe I’m not looking hard enough but to me her art is playful but nice house art and I love it. I think there’s also the stories part and I think that comes through with the cut outs, she gives them new life “New stories” get it?


To me it looks like Danielle makes art because she enjoys it a lot. She has a slight obsession with putting Queen Elizabeth on cute little pastel color shapes. She curates art too and she gets commisioned occasionally to make some big thing, she recently made a big mural. She’s written books and I think her main goal is to make good looking art that people will like and hopefully buy. I’ve never really seen her post anything with a super deep

meaning. All of her art posts have a funny caption but I do know sometimes they’re more serious than others. I feel like I am missing the whole picture here and I probably am but to me it honestly looks like she just makes what she wants and she has this style that people really like so people buy her pieces because it’s something that you would want hanging somewhere in your house.


I think she influenced my art more last year than this year, well so far. The collages I did last year were 100% inspired by her, I tried at least. Even though those collages were probably basic or something I was really proud because they just looked nice. They didn’t have much meaning but they looked nice to me and, like I’ve mentioned before, they looked like house art. They’re actually hanging somewhere in George’s house. I’m so glad that I was able to take inspiration from her because she’s one of those artists that when I see her work I just kind of stare at it for a while because I can’t believe how nice it is. I came back to her this year because I’m making a George piece and I’m using the colors that she uses the most. I want something simple for George, less messy than Izzy’s. I want George’s piece to have the nice pastels and maybe some gold too because with that piece I just kind of want to radiate love? This sounds gay but that’s what I want to do, I want a piece that’s going to represent Georgio because under all that joke/meme art theres this soft delicate, lovable man and there’s nothing more perfect than a Danielle Krysa-inspired-piece of George.


 







30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page